Middle School Mock Trial Advances to State

Johnston students competed with forty teams in the district competition on October 25- 26 at the downtown Des Moines Convention Center. Nine teams from the region will advance to state, and three of those teams – Firestorm, Gold, and Dragon – are from Johnston.


The state competition will be held on November 14-16 at the Des Moines Convention Center and features 32 teams from across the state.

All teams and their coaches represented Johnston well. Teacher Kathy Paul coordinates the program. A combination of attorney and high school coaches, as well as teacher Colleen Ites provided valuable assistance.


Team Firestorm
Attorney coach: Jodi Meyer.
Team parents: Kristin Lee and Amy Winkler.
JHS Coaches: Maddie Gregurek, Katelyn Winkler, Allie Tubbs, Chris Yao, Joe Arthur, Karson Lee, and Max Wilson.
Team members: Karshana Kalyanaraman, Stephen Beaman, Dylan Coslin, Gus Arthur, Rachel Winkler, Zoey Kloewer, Morgan Lee, Tanner Kenin, and Mikayla Dobson.


Team Dragon
Attorney coaches: RaeAnn Gun and Luke Craven.
Team Parent: Julie McLaren.
JHS Coaches: Brooke Thacker, Julia Cavanah, Kate Hapgood, Aline Teixeira, Angela Cai, Matthew Ding, and Grace Campidilli.
Team Members: Andrew Wedemeyer, Megan Jones, Katie Sweet, Catreena Wang, Ellie Lashier, Vivian Chen, Sam McDaniel, Chase McLaren, and Dylan McLaren.


Team Purple
Attorney coaches: Jim Johnson and Brad Price.
Team Parents: Kristen Holm.
HS coaches: Lizzie Boeschen, Kate Carico, Justin Hu, Morgan Bump, Madi Holm, Marshawn Gunn, and Keyshawn Gunn.
Team Members: Andrew Holm, Julia Chen, Rachel Ruisch, Gabi Michalski, Jennifer Larson, and Bea LaRota. Left to right (front): Camille Furer, James Grimm, Gordon Hu, and Jenna Woodsmall.


Team Gold
Attorney coach: PA Henrichsen.
Team Parent: Cheryl Smith.
HS coaches: Sean Reddick, Jack Lucas, Lauren Fergus, Marianne  Aldrich, Obsee Abbajabal, Brooklyn Dilley, Taylor Siebert, and Akshaya Kumar.
Team Members: Teja Jetty, Maryam Mohammed, Phoebe Smith, Megan O’Brien, Elise Henrichsen, Julia Fergus, Morgan Dunn, Karsen Mumm, and Adam Poe.


Receiving recognition at the school level are:
Most Improved Witness: Tanner Kenin, Julia Fergus, Gabi Michalski, and Catreena Wang.
Most Improved Attorney: Stephen Beaman, Teja Jetty, Adam Poe, Julia Chen, Bea LaRota, and Dylan McLaren.
Best Team Support: Rachel Winkler, Karsen Mumm, James Grimm, and Ellie Lashier.
Most Dedicated Team Member: Zoey Kloewer, Elise Henrichsen, Rachel Ruisch, and Chase McLaren.


Receiving recognition at the district level are:
Outstanding Attorney: Dylan McLaren, Maryam Mohammed, Morgan Dunn, Megan O’Brien, Stephen Beaman, Rachel Winkler, and Zoey Kloewer.
Outstanding Witnesses: Sam McDaniel, Catreena Wang, Camille Furer, and Julia Fergus.
Both Outstanding Witness and Outstanding Attorney Awards: Ellie Lashier, Rachel Ruisch, Elise Henrichsen, Tanner Kenin, and Morgan Lee.


News & Announcements

Math Team Places 2nd at Waverly Comp
November 6, 2017

The Math Club did very well in their first competition of the season at Waverly […]

Math Team Takes 2nd at Waverly Comp
November 8, 2016

Members of the Johnston High School Math Team took home a second place team finish […]

Middle School Mock Trial Advances to State
November 1, 2016

Johnston students competed with forty teams in the district competition on October 25- 26 at the […]